2015 Inductees




The International Network of Women in Emergency Management (inWEM) hosted its inaugural International Women in Homeland Security and Emergency Management Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, November 14, 2015, during the IAEM-USA 63nd Annual Conference & EMEX at the Paris Hotel, Clark County, NV.

The Homeland Security and Emergency Management Hall of Fame is one of inWEM’s major initiatives, honoring women who are pioneers and leaders in the fields of homeland security and emergency management in local, state, tribal, and federal governments. Women around the world have been innovators in critical infrastructure facilities; volunteer, faith, and community-based organizations; the private and nonprofit sectors; academia; the military; and private industry.

The inductees were chosen because they have made outstanding achievements and significant contributions in the fields of homeland security and emergency management. They are professionals who have devoted careers to women’s and girls’ causes and community endeavors; and who motivate and inspire young women envisioning careers in homeland security and emergency management.

The 2016 ceremonies will be held on Saturday, October 15, 2016, during IAEM-USA 64th Annual Conference & EMEX Exhibit in Savannah, Georgia.


The 2015 Hall of Fame Inductees:

Ms. Kim Loch Fletcher (1990) – Led the development of the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) role in oil and hazardous materials response for the first Federal Response Plan – Emergency Support Function # 10.  This response initiative endures today as a fundamental element of the National Response Framework. She was awarded the EPA Bronze Metal and a FEMA Meritorious Award for this work. (USA)

Ms. Barbara A. Russell (1997) – Founder of the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Office of Federal Disaster Coordination (OFDC).  Also, she was one of the first, full time, female Federal Coordinating Officers (FCO) with DHS/FEMA, OFDC. (USA) (Posthumous)

Ms. Ronda Oberlin (2005) – Created the “Do 1 Thing” program, which received national recognition in 2012 and 2014 by FEMA and the CDC Foundation. (USA)

Ms. Vilma Milmoe (2007) – The first female, Deputy Superintendent of the DHS/FEMA’s Emergency Management Institute. (USA)

Dr. Jane E. Rovins, MPH, CEM (2008) – Launched and headed the Integrated Research on Disaster Risk (IRDR) International Programme Office linking sciences, policy and practice globally – the first program of this type in Asia (China).”  Also, she is the first woman and founding President of the Natural Hazard Mitigation Association (NHMA). (USA)

Dr. Jannah Scott (2009) – First female Presidential Appointee to serve as Deputy Director of the Center for Faith-based & Neighborhood Partnerships at the US Department of Homeland Security (DHS). (USA)